Dr Sue Packer

Steering Committee



Sue has been a paediatrician since 1972 and has worked in the ACT as a Community Paediatrician and Paediatrician to Child-at-Risk Health Unit since 1990. This is the medical assessment for children who reside in ACT and surrounding NSW where there are concerns about abuse and neglect.  This means working with two child protection systems, two police services and two health services. At CARHU, Sue sees many children because of immediate concerns about abuse and neglect.  She also sees children who are currently in foster care as well as children who have been returned to their parents where there are ongoing concerns.  Sue regularly reviews a small number of these children and has now followed some children and young people into adulthood. The new knowledge about child development and the influence of environment on brain development, in particular the impact of trauma and neglect, interests her greatly and is increasingly influencing her assessment of children and their care. Because of her concerns about, and interest in, children, Sue also belongs to a number of community and professional organisations, including ISPCAN, BASPCAN, NAPCAN (Board Member), AWCH (Association for Wellbeing of Children in Healthcare), Early Years Chapter of ARACY (Committee Member), KIDSAFE and DCI (Defence for Children International). This enables Sue to make her assessment of children on a broad knowledge base in relationship to their place in the community.  In 1999 Sue was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her “services to child welfare, Paediatrics and the Community." Sue was named Canberra Citizen of the Year 2013 "in recognition of her personal efforts and significant contributions to the ACT community, particularly as an advocate for the safety and wellbeing of children."


Packer, Sue 2008. Retrospective: Child Abuse and Neglect - Paediatric Reflections after Twenty Years [online]. Communities, Children and Families Australia, Vol. 3, No. 2, p49-56.

Updated:  16 February 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director ACATLGN/Page Contact:  Director ACATLGN